Current Position: Home page > Year2007  

British Scholars Visit Xi'an Jiaotong Liverpool University

Mr. Derek Shields, Chairman of Registration and Standardization Committee of British Institute of Engineering Technology (IET), visited Xi'an Jiaotong Liverpool University on Oct. 8 together with Ms. Eleanor Pritchard, Business Development Supervisor of the Institute, Prof. John Caldwell, the newly appointed Vice-president of Liverpool University and President of Medical School. The guests were received by Academician Song Yonghua, Executive President of Xi'an Jiaotong Liverpool University.

During the visit, Mr. Derek Shields gave the students of Xi'an Jiaotong Liverpool University a lecture on "Development of Vocational Engineering Education", and outlined the basic functions of IET, which is a professional organization with 160,000 members from 128 countries and with over 90 branches around the world. He elaborated on how IET exercised its influence on tertiary institutions by authentication, promoted the reform in engineering education by IET authentication, and issues of future development of engineering education. At the end of his lecture, Mr. Shields answered the students' questions.

Prof. John Caldwell had a discussion with the students who received scholarships of this year. He first gave an account of the city of Liverpool and the University of Liverpool, and said, "The cooperation and exchange between University of Liverpool and Xi'an Jiaotong University were just in the initial stage, and we will enhance such cooperation and learn from each other's experience." Then he answered the students' questions about medical service, safety channel, enrollment standards, and practice, etc., raised by students who wished to study in University in the future. When asked how to achieve success in career, Prof. Caldwell and President Song replied by telling citing their own personal experiences and encouraged the students to work hard to realize their personal values in life.

Oct. 17, 2007

Suzhou Industrial Park Administrative Committee.2004 Copyright. All rights reserved